Media Contacts:  
Dave Herrell, Nashville Sports Council
615.743.3124 | 615.642.7121 mobile
Kyle Schwartz, Ohio Valley Conference
615.371.1698 | 615.775.1937


NCAA® Women’s Final Four® will be a week-long series of special events culminating with the crowing of the national champion at Bridgestone Arena in April 2014

NASHVILLE, Tenn., (March 12, 2012) – Representatives of the Nashville Local Organizing Committee (NLOC) for the 2014 NCAA Women’s Final Four announced today at a Final Four reception with Mayor Karl Dean and Vice Mayor Diane Neighbors they have surpassed the half a million dollar mark for its fundraising efforts.

“We are thrilled to announce that we have reached the half-way point of our goal of raising $1 million for the 2014 NCAA Women’s Final Four,” said Margaret Behm, co-chair, NLOC and chair of the Fundraising Committee.  “We have worked hard to hit this mark and will continue to do so with our committee to make this the best Women’s Final Four in the tournament’s history.  We strategically wanted to begin our fundraising efforts early so that we can focus on the event in the months leading up to the Women’s Final Four.”

Mayor Karl Dean and NLOC co-chair Vice Mayor Diane Neighbors made a special presentation to NLOC’s current Local Contributors.  Contributors include the following companies and individuals as of March 7:

Champions for Music City

Gaylord Entertainment

Platinum Level Contributors

BlueCross/Blueshield of Tennessee
Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce
Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce Public Benefit Foundation
Pinnacle Financial Partners
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Young Broadcasting

Gold Level Contributors

Bridgestone Americas
Ohio Valley Conference Presidents

Silver Level Contributors

Bank of Nashville
Capstar Bank
Coca-Cola Consolidated
Dodson Parker Behm & Capparella, PC
First Tennessee Bank
Nancy Menke & Sadie Rosson

Bronze Level Contributors

Avenue Bank
Hilton Downtown Nashville
RW Armstrong
Smith Seckman Reid

Copper Level Contributors

George Gulas
Tennessee Bank & Trust

“The NCAA Women’s Final Four will leave a positive and indelible mark on the metropolitan area and the state of Tennessee as a whole,” said NLOC chair Beth DeBauche, Commissioner of the Ohio Valley Conference.  “We are excited to work with these organizations and individuals along with the Event and Marketing Fund Committee to deliver a memorable experience for the student-athletes, administrators and fans of NCAA women’s basketball.  

The Local Contributor Program was created by NLOC to involve corporations and individuals with the 2014 NCAA Women’s Final Four and to assist the local organizing group with the necessary funding to help stage the event.  Local Contributor opportunities have varying level of benefits and opportunities.  For information on the Local Contributor program, please contact Dave Herrell at the Nashville Sports Council at 615.743.3120 or Brad Walker at the Ohio Valley Conference at 615.371.1698.

About the Nashville Sports Council
The Nashville Sports Council is a private, non-profit, membership-based organization of area corporations and individual sports enthusiasts.  Created in 1992, the Nashville Sports Council’s mission is to positively impact the economy and quality of life of the Greater Nashville Area by attracting and promoting professional and amateur sporting events.  The Nashville Sports Council has hosted more than 160 major sporting events that have produced more than $470 million in direct economic impact for the region.  For more information call 615.743.3120 or visit  Follow on Facebook and Twitter.  

About the Ohio Valley Conference
The Ohio Valley Conference, which is the nation's eighth oldest Division I athletic conference is in its 64th year of competition in 2011-12. The OVC is comprised of 11 schools that represent five states. Member institutions include Austin Peay State University, Eastern Illinois University, Eastern Kentucky University, Jacksonville State University, Morehead State University, Murray State University, Southeast Missouri State University, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Tennessee State University, Tennessee Technological University and the University of Tennessee at Martin. Belmont University will become the league's 12th member on July 1, 2012. For more information call 615.371.1698 or visit Follow on Facebook and Twitter